Pizza in the morning/Pizza in the evening/Pizza at supper time

If you’ve read the “About us” page (do it NOW), you already know of my undying love for pizza. I really do believe it is the perfect food. There are so many ways to do pizza, whether it be Bettola/Dolce Vita syle with arugula and buffalo mozzarella, or Papa Johns style (Hawaiian happens to be my current favorite). I don’t even discriminate against Totino’s party pizza style (that crust is GOOD). I personally believe that there is a pizza to fit every craving- sometimes I want good old fashioned red sauce with pepperoni, and then at totally different times I want pesto, or some fancy white pizza concoction. And that is exactly what I went with the other night.

In order to use up some leftover shiitakes, I whipped up a Caramelized Onion and Shiitake Mushroom pizza (loosely based on a Bon Appetit recipe). I didn’t write down quantities, but it’s more of a guessing game depending on how big your pizza is. I started by caramelizing the onions (can anyone teach me to do that without burning some of the pieces?). Once they were good and brown, I turned the heat down and sauteed some minced garlic. I added a little bit of dried rosemary at the end. I spread ricotta cheese on my pizza crust, topped with the onion mixture, added the shiitakes, and grated some fontina cheese over the top. You will notice that I haven’t mentioned my crust yet. I will admit that I cheated a little bit. I bought a pre-baked crust from Central Market. It was definitely easy, but maybe a little bit too dough-y for my taste. I like my pizza thin crusted for the most part.

The before shot

The finished product was pretty dang good, if I do say so myself. I paired it with a green salad with homemade balsamic vinaigrette, and it turned out to be such a quick and easy dinner. This won’t be the last of my pizza making endeavors… Next time I may even attempt my own crust.

Dinner, featured on the place mat Rosie chewed.

2 responses to “Pizza in the morning/Pizza in the evening/Pizza at supper time

  1. Wow, jealousy. This looks so tasty. Plus it’s a creative way to use up an expensive, specialty item like shiitakes. And I bet the leftovers held up well, too! Props.

  2. Pingback: A weekend of recipe stalking « foodstalkers

Leave a Reply

