Hola tacos

Moving to Texas has given me a new found appreciation for all foods Mexican. I’ve always enjoyed binge eating at Mexican restaurants, but that is always how it transpired. After chips, queso, guacamole, margaritas, enchiladas combo with rice and beans, and sopaipillas, the whole experience usually ends up being more of a negative one. It’s amazing how many different variations of the cuisine I’ve encountered since moving to Houston. Now I consider scrambled eggs naked without tomatillo salsa, I buy homemade tortillas almost as regularly as whole wheat bread, and my most frequented take out restaurant is El Rey, a fabulous Mexican/Cuban taqueria. To feed my obsession, it’s only 3 minutes from my apartment AND it has a drive-thru. Every time I go, I try to get something different. I’ve gotten breakfast tacos (pretty good), their cinnamon coffee (amazing- I now add a generous sprinkle of cinnamon in my filter every morning thanks to that coffee), and their grilled fish tortas are pretty delicious as well. This time I opted for an a la carte selection. 

Taco Al Pastor, Cuban Taco, Tortilla SoupThe spread. Clockwise from top left: Taco Al Pastor, Tortilla Soup, Cuban Taco

The Cuban Taco is a special El Rey creation. You choose either beef or chicken (I picked fowl), flour or corn tortilla (corn of course) and they top with black beans, roasted plantains, and a sour cream sauce. The Tortilla Soup is one of their signature items. Rich and spicy chicken broth is spiked with huge, I mean HUGE, chunks of their famous rotisserie chicken, large slices of avocado, and they kindly package the tortilla strips separately so you don’t have to deal with soggy soup! Genius. The Taco Al Pastor was new to me, and I’m so glad I tried it. Roasted pork tossed in a “light Mexican sauce”- whatever that is- and topped with chopped onions and cilantro, served in a corn (for me) tortilla. 

I haven’t had it yet, but I hear the ceviche is good. I’m a little wary of eating raw seafood from an establishment with a drive-thru; but since I’m picking it up about once a week these days, I better add it to my list if I want to make my way through the entire menu. 

5 responses to “Hola tacos

  1. Your pictures of half-eaten food are almost good enough to be on the cover of Bon App.

    I will be eating the hell out of some Mexican, Indian, and Sush when I get home. Yay!

  2. Seriously? You’re killing me. I want that cuban taco.

  3. Pingback: Family Foodstalking « foodstalkers

  4. Howdy! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with SEO?

    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing
    very good success. If you know of any please share.
    Cheers!

  5. Hey! I know this is sort of off-topic but I had to ask. Does operating
    a well-established website such as yours take a massive amount work?
    I’m brand new to writing a blog however I do write in my journal daily. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my experience and feelings online.
    Please let me know if you have any kind of suggestions or tips for new aspiring bloggers.

    Thankyou!

Leave a Reply

