It’s snowing in Southeast Texas…

I know. Truly bizarre. In my short 6 months in Houston, I have already seen a major hurricane blow through the city, and now I’m watching SNOW fall outside my window. Granted, it’s not sticking… but I never thought I’d see snow in a place where people decorate palm trees with Christmas lights (but that is a whole other blog entry… once I start my “Fugstalkers” blog) .

Naturally, this snow makes me want to eat 100% winter comfort food. Here are the cravings that were running through my head this afternoon: soup, grilled cheese, hot chocolate, warm cookies, etc. I decided on a recipe from the Eating Well for Two cookbook. The original recipe was for Curried Squash soup with chicken and spinach. I altered somewhat. First of all, I couldn’t find frozen pureed squash (and I’m not surprised: I didn’t know it existed until I read this recipe). I subbed canned pumpkin instead. Secondly, I decided to leave out the chicken. The man at the meat counter was taking too long (patience is not one of my virtues). I used chicken broth instead of the water the recipe called for, and I used full fat coconut milk instead of light. The recipe with my changes:

Curried Pumpkin Soup with Spinach

1 15-oz. can of pure pumpkin

1/2 c. coconut milk (I probably used a little more than 1/2 c.)

3/4 c. chicken broth

1 6-oz. bag baby spinach

Juice of one (smallish) lime

2 tsp. brown sugar

1 tsp. Thai red curry paste

1/4 tsp. salt

I let everything but the spinach simmer in a saucepan for about 10-15 minutes, and then added the spinach and simmered a couple of minutes more until it was wilted. It looks like wayyyyyyyy too much spinach for the amount of soup, but it will even out once it has cooked down. A note: when they say “Eating Well for Two,” they mean for TWO (or one appetite the size of LG’s). I will double or triple this the next time I make it. 

Curried Pumpkin SoupThe verdict? So good! The curry paste added just the right amount of heat. This was seriously the easiest meal I’ve ever made. I think I have made it known before that I hate chopping things, and this recipe lacked that activity. I will definitely be making this many more times. 

One response to “It’s snowing in Southeast Texas…

  1. that looks like a homerun! i love coconut curry!

Leave a Reply

