For the love of brunch.

What is better than waking up on the late side of the morning, rolling out of bed, throwing on clothes and going to wait in line at a trendy restaurant? BAM! Hit you with a surprise. No, waiting in line is not fun.

But still, I love brunch for many reasons. First, rarely do I make breakfast for myself, so it’s a treat to eat eggs and bacon. And brunch takes eggs and bacon to the next level. There’s always a twist on your expectations. Second, brunch conversations with friends typically rehash the previous night out. Third, Bloody Mary’s. Finally, I have dreams of having a honey that makes brunch for me because I would certainly do so for him. So, I guess I aspire to love brunch for that reason someday. It’s the perfect way to show that you love someone. I love you so much I will get out of bed, let you sleep, and work up this fantastic meal!

Though I was just cooking for one, and for dinner, I did not have to wait in line and I picked the most perfect brunch recipe: Salmon Eggs Benedict.

I selected this recipe because of a pic on Meg’s blog, because I’ve wanted to test out poaching eggs without PoachPods and because the recipe called for mock hollandaise. Hollandaise can be temperamental and requires a blender (which I broke last week), so I wanted to avoid that headache. There were so many other things to get right, I didn’t want to risk getting the hollandaise wrong.

To start, go ahead and put the English muffins in the oven to toast. Or toaster. Butter the sides. Mmmm off to a good start. Then assemble the ingredients for the mock hollandaise.

oj and lemon juice, lemon zest, mayo and mustard

oj and lemon juice, lemon zest, mayo and mustard

Prepare to poach the eggs. This took me two tries as I split the yolk of one egg in the first batch. This is a cool process to watch. Just let the egg do its thing in the simmering water, don’t touch it, and when you think you’re ready to take it out, let it cook and congeal longer.

poaching

poaching

success!

success!

my double boiler. i had it tilted in the pot so it was not resting on the heat.

my double boiler. i had it tilted in the pot so it was not resting on the heat.

Time to assemble all the elements.

first the smoked salmon

first the smoked salmon

then the eggs

then the eggs

add hollandaise, dill and eat up

add hollandaise, dill and eat up

This was a fantastic recipe, granted a little finicky. It definitely helped to have everything prepped and ready before starting on the eggs and sauce because those required a good bit of attention. I’ll be trying this out again. I love all the variations of eggs benedict. You can replace each of the traditional ingredients (bacon/ham, poached egg, hollandaise, English muffin) with a crabcake, country ham, sausage, avocado/tomato, spinach, gravy and biscuit. Oh man, I’m thinking Italian Eggs Benedict: rustic garlic bread, proscuitto, fried egg, pesto and parmesan cheese on top. That will be for next time.

2 responses to “For the love of brunch.

  1. oh.my.gosh em. I shouldn’t have clicked on this post as I sit here in my pajamas with nothing to eat. I’ve always been scared of poaching eggs, but you have inspired me!

  2. Italian Eggs Benedict sounds fantastico. I might have to sub some kinda Italian variation on hollandaise for the pesto…or maybe have both in some ratio? Sounds great to me.

Leave a Reply

