(Late) Early Cinco de Mayo

Since I am in Texas, and thus the closest foodstalker to Mexico, I thought I should probably celebrate Cinco de Mayo on more than just the cinco this year. Since the actual day fell on a Tuesday this year, my group hit up our Tuesday Tradition- Terlingua Border Cafe for half priced fajita night! I will save that review for another Tuesday since I don’t have any pictures, but suffice it to say, it must be good if we keep coming back every week!

So, on the quatro de Mayo, I decided to start the celebration a little early with these Lime-Cilantro Pork Tacos. I have recently started basing my weekly meals on what is on sale at Central Market for the week- this particular week featured pork tenderloin, so I did a quick search and landed on this recipe. It just so happened to have three of my favorite ingredients in the title, so how could I go wrong?

 

Onions, jalapenos, and garlic going to town. Note the terrible knife skills.

Onions, jalapenos, and garlic going to town. Note the terrible knife skills.

 

Bowl of pork, glass of wine, smell of onions sauteing- perfection.

Bowl of pork, glass of wine, smell of onions sauteing- perfection.

 

Ta-da!

Ta-da!

I didn’t take any pictures of the actual finished product- if you thought it all looked the same color in the picture above, you should’ve seen it wrapped in a corn tortilla. What it lacked in visual presence though, it made up for in taste. I just love the combo of lime and cilantro. I ate this as leftovers for several days afterward and I enjoyed it every time. 

2 responses to “(Late) Early Cinco de Mayo

  1. After hearing your review, I was then inspired to whip these up for our cinco de mayo dinner. Delicious!

  2. They were really good when mom made them!

Leave a Reply

