Sunday favorite: Tiny Boxwood’s

One of my dad’s most common compliments for a fabulous restaurant is this: “It doesn’t feel like you are in ______ ” (insert city that is not NYC or Paris or any other culinary capitol). While I in no way want to knock Houston or Birmingham or any other non-Paris of the world, it is true that part of a great meal is the ability to feel like you are “getting away,” even if it’s just for the duration of brunch. My favorite place to do this in Houston is at Tiny Boxwood’s. You’ll notice when you click the link that you have been directed to the website of a landscape architecture company/garden shop. Tiny’s is a small cafe located on the site of a nursery- so as you can imagine, the surroundings are gorgeous. There is some seating outside under big umbrellas, and an open dining room inside. Outside is my favorite- if you can get over the 110+ heat index, you are instantly transported to a grassy Parisian park.

Indoor Dining at Tiny's (photo from www.tinyboxwoods.com)

Indoor Dining at Tiny's (photo from http://www.tinyboxwoods.com)

Cutest outdoor dining in the city, hands down (photo from www.tinyboxwoods.com)

Cutest outdoor dining in the city, hands down (photo from http://www.tinyboxwoods.com)

I’ll have to admit: I’ve only been for one meal here, and that’s brunch. Tiny’s also serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner as well. The lunch menu looks particularly good- it’s next on my list to check out. There’s just something about brunch though- number one, it’s my favorite meal. If you time it right and eat enough, it can be your single significant meal for the day. Number two, coffee. And it’s great at Tiny’s.

One of the things I love most about this place is that you order at the counter. Now, it has resulted in some people waiting much longer than others for their order since they’re not grouped together. But I love it because there’s no awkward, annoying discussion of how to split the check, who’s got cash, who’s got a credit card, etc. Nothing ruins the end of a meal like that. Once you place your order, pick up your coffee drink from the bar (they’ll call your name… loudly), and head over to the water area. This usually isn’t an exciting part of a dining experience- but here, it it’s pretty cool. Tiny’ s has really awesome ice, and limes in addition to your average lemon to add to your water!

But you’re here for the food. My only complaint about the menu is that they don’t rotate it. There are certain things that change, such as the quiche filling and flavor of muffin, but other than that it’s pretty standard and pretty small. I think they would really benefit from incorporating specials into the menu from time to time. I’ll let the pictures speak for themselves. This is my go-to casual meal right now. Love that I don’t have to deal with the hassle of splitting checks or waiting for the check, but the atmosphere encourages long, leisurely meals (unless there are River Oaks vultures waiting on your table).

One of the breakfast pizzas- roasted potatoes, fried egg, basil, and some kind of cheese that I can't remember.

One of the breakfast pizzas- roasted potatoes, fried egg, basil, and some kind of cheese that I can't remember.

Muffin of the day: Raspberry

Muffin of the day: Raspberry

Granola, yogurt, and fruit (not mine- those who know me would figure that out due to presence of yogurt), and an amazing croissant with fresh strawberry jam

Granola, yogurt, and fruit (not mine- those who know me would figure that out due to presence of yogurt), and an amazing croissant with fresh strawberry jam. Amazing coffee and lime-water in background.

The flakiest crust you will ever put in your mouth. Delicious quiche.

The flakiest crust you will ever put in your mouth. Delicious quiche.

8 responses to “Sunday favorite: Tiny Boxwood’s

  1. oh my, LG. these pics are great. food looks fabulous, and i totally agree about the paying/check discussion at the end of a meal. well said.

    as far as being transported for a meal goes…haha… i like to squint my eyes and see if i can imagine i’m in a different place. usually works!

  2. If I recall correctly, this is on our to-do list this week. THIS WEEK!! I like the name, but whenever I hear it I think of “Little Boxes” and Weeds, haha.

    I cannot wait to see you and take the dining tour of Houston, LG version.

  3. Woo Hoo! One of my favorites as well. Agree on the needed menu rotation, but its so delish I will keep going back. I feel famous now that my brunch has been featured on foodstalkers!! haha

  4. LJGol and Paris, tu me manques!!!

  5. Yes! So glad to see an update! Darn those River Oaks vultures. You forgot to add another thing that adds to the overall experience: the cute bus boy and slightly-obsessed-with-LG barista.

    Sad I’m going to miss the visit from your mom!

  6. Ahh…one day I’ll get to go to TB’s.

  7. Pingback: Family Foodstalking « foodstalkers

  8. Pingback: foodstalkers

Leave a Reply

