Houston eats, take-out edition

I eat a lot of take-out meals. I’m a single 20-something- I think most of us do. While I do love cooking, it’s a little challenging to create multiple meals every week for just one person. So I rely on take-out when I’m in the mood for a hot meal, but not in the mood to cook it. I’ve had some success recently after branching out from Pei Wei (my go-to take-out spot)- allow me to share.

First up is Al’s Quick Stop. Just like another Al’s (that I’m sure everyone reading this knows my undying love for), this place specializes in gyros. This place is also a dump, and I mean that in the nicest possible way. It’s actually a convenience store, right next to the favorite Montrose bar/restaurant/music venue, Rudyard’s (or Rudz if you’re in the know).

Grainy Blackberry picture of the menu. Gotta get me an iPhone.

Grainy Blackberry picture of the menu. Gotta get me an iPhone.

I don’t know too many people that are willing to risk gas station food for a good gyro, so one day when I was in the neighborhood, I grabbed a gyro, some fries, and a canned Dr. Pepper from the gas station area to go. The total for these three items was around $6 or $7, which is UNBELIEVABLY cheap in my opinion. And I love cheap.

One of my favorite foods, the gyro

One of my favorite foods, the gyro

Hand-cut fries

Hand-cut fries

I have to say, I was really impressed. The gyro meat was just how I like it- a little crunchy on the outside, but not overcooked. Interestingly, the two gyros I’ve had here in Houston (Niko Niko’s and now Al’s), have both been served in this way- meat and veggies folded inside a pita like a taco. Back home at my other favorite Al’s in Birmingham, gyros are rolled into a thin pita with lettuce and tomato, like a wrap. I prefer the Houston method much better. I love the pillowy pita bread that they use at Al’s Quick Stop. I hear the fries are hand-cut, and they proved to be very tasty, although they didn’t survive the car ride home very well.

Al’s does have a small seating area next to the order counter, and I may try that out one day to see how the fries are fresh out of the fryer. If you are squeamish about eating at a convenience store, get it to go and pretend you got it from Niko’s. It’s much better in my opinion.

Next up is Pierson and Company BBQ, a shack that dishes out some of the city’s best ‘que in North Houston.

Bread in a ziploc bag. Nice touch.

Bread in a ziploc bag. Nice touch.

Mmmmm carne...

Mmmmm carne...

Rib in cross-section

Rib in cross-section

They weren't kidding when they said "small" peach cobbler

They weren't kidding when they said "small" peach cobbler

Author’s note: I drafted this post around 2 months ago and then completely forgot about it. In the spirit of moving forward and getting back into this blogging thing (for reals), I’ll add one last addition to Houston take-out and then keep on truckin’!

DSC03088

Tacos al Pastor from 100% Taquito in Houston. Pork, pineapple chunks, and cilantro in a corn tortilla. The meat was too gristley for me.

DSC03089

Also from 100% Taquito, but this I would go back for. Corn tossed in lime juice and chile powder. So simple, so delicious.

One response to “Houston eats, take-out edition

  1. Yea! a new Foodstalk post. Pierson & Co. next trip out, and I’ll eat at the gas station w/ you. no problem. p.s. take another photo of that menu with your NEW iPHONE.

Leave a Reply

